KCACTF National Festival 2011: Design, Technologies and Management Awards

Congratulations again!!!!

Shelly Elman
Professor of Theatre
Chair, Region IV, Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival
University of West Georgia
Martha Munro Building, Room 207C
Carrollton, GA 30117
678.839.4704 (Office)
678.839.4708 (Fax)

From: Henry, Gregg [mailto:GHenry@Kennedy-Center.org]
Sent: Monday, April 25, 2011 11:04 AM
Subject: KCACTF National Festival 2011: Design, Technologies and Management Awards

KCACTF National Festival
Design, Technologies and Management Fellowships and Awards
Presented on April 23, 2011

The Barbizon Award for Excellence in Costume Design
Carlie Crawford, Middlebury College

Mignon Charvet, University of New Orleans
Amy Schrag, University of Hawaii at Manoa

The Barbizon Award for Excellence in Lighting Design
Meghan Gray, Colorado State University

The Barbizon Award for Excellence in Scenic Design
Christopher and Justin Swader, Ball State University

Jeffrey Kmiec, University of Virginia
James Tait, Portland Community College: Sylvania Campus

The Alcone Makeup Design Awards
Karen Billingsley, University of Central Missouri

Honorable Mention
Molly Hill, Utah State University

The Orchard Project Core Company Fellowship
Justin Schmitz, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse [Sound Design]

The O’Neill Playwrights’ Conference Design and Stage Management Fellowships
Stage Management: Michelle Elias, University of Michigan
Lighting Design: James Eishen, University of Minnesota Duluth
Scenic Design: Jeffrey Kmiec, University of Virginia
Sound Design: Tracy Cowit, Adelphi University

The National Partners of the American Theatre Design Award
In association with the Korean National University of the Arts
Rachel Finn, Southern Methodist University [Scenic Design]

The KCACTF Sound Design Award
Joshua Fehrmann, Sam Houston State University

The Williamstown Theatre Festival Sound Design Fellowship
Anna-Lee Craig, James Madison University

The Stagecraft Institute of Las Vegas Awards For Excellence in Technology and Design
SILV has partnered with KCACTF to award students from each region a one-week master class in the area of their choice. The SILV 2011 classes are in Computer Drafting, Computer Modeling, Rigging, Automation, Props & SFX, Sound, Makeup & Masks, Lighting Technology, Patterning, Projections & Video, and Moving Lights.

Each award includes a full tuition grant, housing, daily breakfast and lunch. Students were selected by a team of theatre technologists and designers for outstanding achievement demonstrated at each Regional Festival in their area of theatre technology, crafts or design.

Rudolf Mikkleson, Suffolk County Community College
Alexis Smith, Eastern Connecticut State University
James Hicks, University of Texas at El Paso
Victor  Ciccone, Portland Community College
Kevin Lichty, Clarion University
Tracy Hoida, University of Wisconsin – Parkside
Mackenzie Millan, Virginia Commonwealth University
Joe Burkard, University of Central Missouri
Michael Leon, Los Angeles City College Theatre Academy

Gregg Henry, Artistic Director
Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival
Education Department
The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
Washington DC 20566-0001